Camouflage Can Be A Girl’s Best Friend

We all want to hide something at sometime.  In fact, we probably want to hide lots of things all the time!  We hide toys in baskets and junk mail in drawers.  We stuff our dirty laundry into a hamper.  Camouflage is a good thing.  It helps us hide the ugly, making the space beautiful.

Take this for example…TOTAL CAMOUFLAGE!!

This wall is in my basement, which is finished.  For some reason the builder put the breaker boxes right in the middle of the wall.  The main wall!  The first wall you look at when you come into the room!  He painted them, but they smack you in the face as soon as you enter the room.

Hence the need for some creative thinking.  I did not want to do a large piece of artwork because the ceilings are not tall, the artwork would have to be huge and I had this Tivoli Console Table in black, from Pottery Barn, which fits perfectly on that wall.

So I decided on a gallery wall using only black and white photos of my kids. The problem was that I could not hammer nails into the doors of the breaker boxes.

Enter 3M Command Strips for picture and frame hangers…

They are velcro!  There are also different packs for different weights of your frames.  So easy!

If you look very closely, you can see the line of the doors to the breaker boxes between some of the frames, but I have found that unless I point it out…no one notices. Camouflage!

So, there you go.  A simple way to cover up an ugly wall with beautiful pictures of your family and friends.  My gallery wall consists of very unique and unusual pictures of my kids.  No straight-on head shots…only different “caught in the moment” kind of pics.  Them racing across the lawn… Looking out over a pier at the ocean… Walking away… etc.

It’s my favorite wall in the house.  I sometimes just stand and look…

Let me know what you think.  Do you have any clever ways to conceal the ugly?

Leslie

Linking to:

UndertheTableandDreaming

13 thoughts on “Camouflage Can Be A Girl’s Best Friend

  1. What a great blog! I never knew there were breaker boxes behind those pictures. It really is a great camouflage! I look forward to reading more posts!

    1. Some of the objects I put on the console table are tall but I choose to do that because I like the fact that the whole arrangement looks layered. But that’s just me…Thanks for stopping by! I value input from readers.

  2. Leslie – Love your blog and love this idea! I have the exact same issue in one of my bedrooms. I’ve been trying to cover the panel with a large piece, but it has never looked right. I think I may even go with the black & white collage idea. Since I love photography, I have plenty of photos to choose from. The walls in the room are black (The color was chosen by my son who is a two-time war veteran, so I initially cut him some slack, but it ended up looking great!), so I may go with a lighter shade frame and a really bold black & white photo. Thanks & keep up the great work!

  3. Great way to draw attention away from a less-than-desirable “feature” in a space – cover it up!

    Oh an I totally use those Command velcros for smaller pictures – so easy to use 🙂

    I enjoy your blog and have added it to the list of those I follow – keep on bloggin’!

Leave a comment